The Troubled Soul

January 25, 2012 

Someone made a comment about me referring to a friend who has died as a “troubled soul.” I have thought about it, and how it might sound. During our college days he WAS troubled in ways which I was not. We formed a real bond of friendship. I did not know that what he had would be referred to “obsessive-compulsive thought disorder.” As close as we were, I could never give him enough assurance about any topic he was concerned with, usually a spiritual one, that comforted him. It was a puzzle to me, but I was honored that he came to me with questions. In all the intervening years, life’s harsh realities hit me many times. I struggled, and I would certainly classify myself as a “troubled soul”. In many ways, if we are honest before God, we are ALL troubled. I don’t count myself as any different. To be human, and struggle to know what is divine can be VERY troubling. But our wonderful missionary friend, Sonny Holland, said something I’ll always be grateful for…that is, There is NOTHING like trouble that will send you running to God. And folks, we all NEED to realize that we are troubled souls in need of a gracious God and Savior. I will confess it to the world! I AM a troubled soul who finds comfort in the arms of the Savior. It is a constant process of going through trials, and throwing yourself before the throne of mercy.

Leave a comment